National Team to defend under-19 Cricket Tourney

Grenada will host the Windward Islands Under-19 Cricket Tournament which begins this weekend.

The sub-regional cricket tournament runs from July 6 to 14 at the major grounds throughout the country.

Thirteen players have already been selected to represent Grenada which is the defending champion.

They are Roland Cato (Captain), Keone George (Vice-captain), Melvin Gordon, Omar Charles, Kelton Cadoo, Kishon Mitchell, Kevil Charles (Wicket-keeper), Deron Hypoite, Darel Cyrus, Preston McSween, Sherman Lewis, Craig Phillip, and Javel St. Paul.

There are also four players as reserves.

They are Samuel Charles, Chard Charles, Ryan John, and Mikkel Joseph.

The players would have been playing with their respective teams in the local domestic competitions.

They were also exposed to a trial which served as a guide for the selectors in determining who should make it on the national squad.

A number of the players who were part of the team last year form the nucleus of the team.

The Captain, Cato played for the Windward last year along with George, McSween, and Lewis.

They were all players on the national team last year together with Phillip, Cadore, Gordon and Mitchell.

The team will now be engaged in a vigorous training twice per week at la Sagesse Playing Field under the watchful eye of Ray Duncan.

The Grenada Cricket Association is confident that the team will do well in retaining the Under-19 Title.

It is hoped that many of the players would find a place on the West Indies Under-19 Team for next year’s World Cup.

Meanwhile, four Grenadians are named in the Windward squad for the Under-17 competition.

They are leg spinner Darel Cyrus who has been selected as the team’s vice-captain, All-rounder Ryan John, Chad Charles who is a left-handed batsman, and Alleyne Matthew.

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.