Wuss Ways dethrone Boyzie in soca clash

Dingaan “Lil Natty” Henry & Nyelon “Thunda” Williams have won their first major national title by dethroning 4 times Soca Monarch Jalon “Boyzie” Olive to capture the 2018 Soca Monarch competition held Bacchanal Friday night (August 10) at the national Cricket Stadium at Queens Park.

Dingaan “Lil Natty” Henry & Nyelon “Thunda” William been crowned by the 2018 Carnival queen, Kemik DeGale

Clad in matching baby blue dress suits and white shirts, the singing duo from St. David who perform under the jargon “Wuss Ways” put down an energetic delivery of “Get in your section,” to get the nod of the judges to grab 267 points and take home the 2018 title.

“To me this is the people’s crown. This crown is for everybody that came out to the stadium to support Lil Natty and Thunda over the years,” Lil Natty told reporters following the show.

“It’s a great feeling,” added Thunda, who was notably very emotional and appeared to be too caught up in the moment to speak.

The winning performance sent the thousands at the stadium into a soca frenzy, which ended with the duo exiting the stage into a big red and white ball, which carried them into the air and then back stage.

Failing to defend his crown Boyzie, who hails from the parish of St, Patrick, emerged from underneath the stage to deliver his song “Possessed,” and 2nd spot with a score of 252 points.

Placing 3rd was Javis “Muddy” Cuffie with his rendition “Done stupid already,” followed by Shem “Terra D Governor” Bernard in 4th position on 229 points with his rendition “Only God can stop me.”

Shondell “Dash” Amada occupied the 5th position on 215 points with his rendition “Follow my lead.”

Monarch Jalon “Boyzie” Olive – had to settle for second place

Making his debut on the big stage with one of this year’s people’s favorite track “Stampede,” was Kendel “Ledneck” George, who captured position 6 on 213 points.

3-times Soca Monarch winners Kelon “Luni Sparks” Ogiste & Kelson “Electrify” Ogiste, who captured their last title in August 2014, placed 7th with their rendition “Mash up challenge,” on 210 points, just one point shy of veteran soca artiste Elimus “Inspector” Gilbert, who placed 8th on 209 points with a song called “We disagree.”

Hailing from the sister isle of Carriacou, Finber “Shortpree” Andrews placed 9th on 205 points with his rendition “Chant of the summer.”

Jevaughn “Vaughn” John and “Pappi Boi” La Pompe tied for position 10 on 203 points with their selections “The light” and “Bacchanal blast,” respectively.

Keron “Lil Kerry” Noel placed 12th on 107 points with a song called “Ain’t giving up,” followed by Dave “Boggie B” Peters on 196 points with his song “Full Effect.”

Former Carriacou Monarch Brendon “Killa B” Mckie scored 193 points to capture the 14th position with a song entitled “D Funeral.” He was followed by Filandi “Stunna” Jeffery in position 15 on 191 points with a song called “Rise Up”, followed by reigning 2018 Carriacou Monarch Ezron “Dezy X” Stafford on 188 points with his rendition “Race to Fete.”

The last spot was given to Jerry “Papa Jerry” Baptiste in position 17 with 184 points from his rendition “Total destruction.”

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.