Deployment of Permanent Secretaries in the service

Acting Prime Minister, Gregory Bowen has announced that official instruments of appointment have been handed over to the Permanent Secretaries to serve in the different ministries under the newly elected New National Party (NNP) government following the March 13 general election.

The Permanent Secretaries who took up duties with effect from Tuesday includes top calypsonian, Finley “Scholar” Jeffrey who is having his first stint at heading a government ministry.

Scholar will serve as PS in the Ministry of Education, Human Resource Development and Religious Affairs, headed by Minister Emmalin Pierre.

He will have specific responsibility for Education and will share the ministry with PS Jacinta Joseph who will concentrate on Human Resource Development and Religious Affairs.

According to Minister Bowen, the thirteen government ministries have all been outfitted with existing and new Permanent Secretaries in order to ensure “efficiency and implementation” of government policies and programmes.

Speaking to reporters Tuesday at the first post-Cabinet Press Briefing since the March 13th election in which the NNP retained all 15 seats for the second concecutive time, he said the support from the public service through the Permanent Secretary is critical for the work of government.

“…Both at the Cabinet level and at the Permanent Secretary level, the public must see efficiency, they must see capability and they must have the expectation and we know that we’re doing our utmost to make it a reality,” Bowen told reporters.

Following is the list of persons holding positions of Permanent Secretaries on the island:-

*The Ministry of National Security, Public Administration, Home Affairs and Information/Communication Technology, which is headed by Prime Minister Dr. Keith Mitchell – Anna Brizan would be responsible for Security and Public Administration and Sally-Anne Bhagwan-Logie would be responsible for Home Affairs and Information/Communication Technology

*Ministry of Infrastructure Development, Public Utilities, Energy, Transport and Implementation, headed by Gregory Bowen – Kim Frederick would be responsible for Infrastructure Development and Implementation and Patricia Clarke would look after Public Utilities and Energy.

*Alleyne Buckmire-Outram has remained in Tourism and Civil Aviation.

*The Ministry of Youth Development, Sports, Culture and Arts, headed by Minister Norlan Cox will be served by PS Kevin Andall.

*Pauline Peters – Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health, Social Security and International Business.

*Veronica Charles is now Acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Social Development, Housing and Community Development.

*Alva Browne has remained in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

*Lima Frederick will serve in the Ministry of Labour, which is being headed by Peter David.

*Ruth Rouse – PS in the Ministry of Legal Affairs.

*Ophelia Wells-Cornwall is the PS in the Ministry of Finance, Planning, Economic Development and Physical Development.

*Aaron Francois – is now the new Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Trade and Cooperatives.

Although it was not announced by Minister Bowen, the Ministry of Agriculture will have a new Permanent Secretary in the person of Elvis Morain, who was serving as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) in the Ministry of Education.

Morain was still at his post in Education this week although he had informed staffers last week that he would be going as PS in Agriculture.

Sources told THE NEW TODAY that Morain allegedly received comunication on Friday that his new assignment in Agriculture was being delayed for the time being.

According to Minister Bowen, Prime Minister Mitchell in conjunction with the Public Service Commission will continue to make appointments in areas that were not mentioned.

“Either … one of the Permanent Secretaries could be given the added responsibility or new persons could come on in the areas under the various ministries where you did not hear any responsibility assigned to anyone,” he said.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.