G’da defaults under NNP

Evidence is emerging that the Keith Mitchell-led New National Party (NNP) government has been less than truthful with the nation on payment of arrears to international bodies.

The regime has consistently claimed that it has paid up arears of thousands of dollars that fell due to organisations like the United Nations and the Commonwealth under the 2008-13 Congress administration of Tillman Thomas.

However, a high-level government source told THE NEW TODAY newspaper that the Mitchell government has not made good on outstanding payments in membership dues to the European Commission.

He said the government has just entered into “a payment plan” with the EU as Grenada was in default during the 2008-13 period of Congress and most of the last five years under Prime Minister Mitchell.

“The (payment) plan just got approved”, said the source who did not want to be identified.
News also surfaced this week that the NNP administration has not been paying membership dues to the United Nations and Grenada is barred from voting at meetings of the world body.

Following is the full text of an article on the UN website about countries in default on payment of dues:

Countries in arrears on the payment of their financial contributions under the terms of Article 19 of the UN Charter Under Article 19 of the Charter, a Member State in arrears in the payment of its dues in an amount that equals or exceeds the contributions due for two preceding years can lose its vote in the General Assembly.

An exception is allowed if the Member State can show that conditions beyond its control contributed to this inability to pay.

As of 29 January 2018, twelve (12) Member States are subject to the provisions of Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations (A/72/713/Add.1).

In its resolution 72/2 of 9 October 2017, entitled “Scale of assessments for the apportionment of the expenses of the United Nations: requests under Article 19 of the Charter”, the General Assembly decided that the following Member States, although in arrears in the payment of their dues, shall be permitted to vote until the end of the current session:

1. Comoros
2. Guinea-Bissau
3. Sao Tome and Principe
4. Somalia

Therefore, there are currently eight (8) Member States that do not have a vote in the 72nd session of the General Assembly:

1. Central African Republic
2. Dominica
3. Equatorial Guinea
4. Grenada
5. Libya
6. Suriname
7. Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
8. Yemen

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.