Knighthood for Justice Lyle St Paul

Retired High Court Judge, Justice Lyle Kevin St. Paul has joined an elite group of Grenadians in bearing the title of Knight Commander of St. Michael and St. George (KCMG).

Justice Lyle St.Paul – join the ranks of the knighted

Justice Lyle St.Paul – join the ranks of the knighted

Justice St. Paul who is to be referred to as Sir Lyle after he is knighted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth ll later this year, is among six Grenadians on the New Year’s Day Queen’s Honour’s list for 2016.

The stylist judge received the high accolade for his contribution to public service and the judiciary over the years.

Sir Lyle who is a member of the Anglican Church Community in Grenada, and previously served as Chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of the Windward Islands was recognised by members of the St. George’s Congregation during the weekly Eucharist Service last Sunday.

Member of the congregation, Pamela Steele who made the announcement of the retired Judge new title said, “we give God praise and thanks for this honour, and we all know him, and we wish him all the best for the future.”

Apart from the Governor-Generals who bear the title of KCMG, the title was also bestowed on local hotelier, Sir Royston Hopkin as a civilian when he was knighted by Queen Elizabeth ll during an investiture ceremony held at Buckingham Palace on April 27th 2005 for his contribution to tourism.

Justice St. Paul was called to the Bar in 1969, and became a judge in 1987.

He retired in 2001, but returned to the Bench on several occasions to fill the void of a shortage of Judges in the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

The other persons to be included on the Honour’s list are former Parliamentarian, Willan Dewsbury who represented the Constituency of St. Mark’s between 1995 and 1999 for service to culture, and Ann Margaret Wilson for her service to education and the community – both awarded the Member of the British Empire.

The distinguished Order of the British Empire went to Dr. Chamarthy Subbarao for service to the medical profession.

Former President of the Public Workers Union (PWU), Luret Clarkson is to receive the British Empire Medal for her service to nursing and trade unionism, along with Jean Lambert for service to nursing.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.