Four recommended for scholarships

The Scholarship Committee has nominated four Grenadians for the Commonwealth Scholarship.

Minister of Education, Anthony Boatswain told the media during a recent post-Cabinet press briefing that government has accepted the recommendation of the Scholarship Committee to submit the names of four persons to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan for consideration of a Commonwealth Scholarship tenable in the United Kingdom.

The four persons identified are Tonia Hyacinth to pursue a Masters Degree in Language Pathology, Ravindra Narine, a PHD in Micro Biology, Morris Cox who is interested in a Masters Degree in Economics, Banking and Finance and Mikela Hercules, a Masters Degree in Financial and Business Management.

According to Minister Boatswain, Cabinet also approved $24,900.00 to assist needy students to meet their commitments to examination fees.

He said this was done in keeping with his government’s philosophy that no child should be left behind because he or she cannot afford to pay examination fees.

He added that not withstanding Government’s tight fiscal situation, the New National Party administration has decided to come forward and provide assistance to needy students.

The Minister said that applicants were received from all secondary schools throughout the country and the T. A. Marryshow Community College.

Approximately 80 students will benefit from this assistance.


Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.